Help sections relating to Users:
- Table Column Information
- Bulk Actions
- User Roles and Subscriptions
- Creating a user
- Editing a user
User settings page
The user settings page will provide you an overview of your current RedShield users. It is important that you check this view regularly to confirm that the users with access to your vulnerabilities are still current and their information is up to date.
Table Column Information
First Name / Last Name: This is used to help identify and sort your users.
Company: This is handy if you have different sub companies or contractors working through vulnerabilities in your portal. The company column is the company that this user works for, not the client / company name that owns the RedShield service.
Email: This is the users emails address and what they use to login to the RedShield portal. If they are receiving notifications and updates from RedShield they will be sent to this address.
Phone: The phone number must be a mobile number as this is the number RedShield will use to perform your password resets. If you request a new password RedShield will text it to this users number.
Last Logged In: This is the time that the user last logged into the RedShield portal. If the date is blank then they have never logged in. It's important that you deactivate old users or people who are not logging in regularly as the more users who have access to your companies information and vulnerabilities the more likely that sensitive information can be leaked or obtained by another person.
Enabled: If enabled is set to true then the user can login to the portal. If it is set to false then that user will not be able top use their credentials to login again. This is handy if you want to disable a users access but they will require the account in the future. Users can be enabled or disabled at any time.
If you click on a user, a modal will open and you can view their permissions. If you require updates or edits to an existing user please contact support and we will modify this for you.
To apply a bulk action simply select the table rows you would like to apply the action to then select the action from the drop down list (right click to display bulk action dropdowns).
Your data should reload instantly and you will notice the table rows updated to reflect the action that was applied. Details about each action can be found below.
Enable: This will change the enabled status to true and the portal user will be able to login and gain access to your RedShield portal.
Disable: This will change the enabled status to false, all users who are disabled will not be able to login to the portal (however their login credentials will stay the same). Disable users to suspend access temporarily. If the user has left your company, you are best to delete them permanently.
Delete: Using this bulk action will permanently delete the user, all portal access that user had for your company will be revoked.
User Roles and Subscriptions
You can apply different roles to your users, which will adjust their permissions allowing them more or less control over your RedShield system and administration. See below for the role differences. If you have multiple sub clients then you can adjust the user role for each sub client as well.
Note: The role applied to the parent client will inherit through the sub clients unless a specific role has been applied to the sub client.
User Role - User: Users will only be able to view your results, they will not be able to make any modifications, delete results or administer any scans or bulk actions. It is recommended that the user role be applied to users who will be monitoring and fixing vulnerabilities within your RedShield.
User Role - Administrator: Administrators will be able to delete and manage every aspect of their RedShield. Wizards and the admin dashboard will become available. It is recommended that the administrator permissions only be given to a limited number of people. This will allow you to keep track of new accounts and scan modifications created by other administrators within your RedShield.
User subscriptions and advanced options can be applied to a new user or by editing an existing user. The subscriptions can be found at the bottom of the user modal additional information about each can be found below:
Primary Contact: The primary contact will be the first point of call in regards to provisioning your RedShield managed service or vulnerability notifications.
Enable: If users are not enabled then they will not be able to login to RedShield.
Receive scan notification by email: If this is checked then the user will receive a daily summary email (if there have been updates).
Creating / Editing a user
Creating a user
To create a new user follow these steps:
- Select a client to add the user to from the top right dropdown
- Go to the users submenu (Settings > Users)
- Click the create user button
- Complete the user information (information about the user properties and field descriptions can be found above)
- Click the add role button to create a role for your user - see above for more information on user roles, if you make a mistake you can click the remove button to remove the role.
- Once all the user information is complete save the user, once complete your new user will be sent a welcome email and a password will be sent as a text message to the mobile provided.
Editing a user
If you have made a mistake and saved your user you can edit the user by following these steps:
- Click the edit button for the user that you would like to edit
- A modal will open with your edit options, make your changes
- Save your changes
Deleting a user
RedShield provides the functionality for you to disable a user without permanently deleting them, to do this go to the user tab on the admin dashboard, select the user you would like to disable and use the disable bulk action. Please note that once a user is deleted they will no longer be able to login, notification emails will stop being sent and any vulnerability comments created by the user will have the user name "Deleted User". Use the disable feature if you would like to keep the comment history.
Users can be deleted two ways:
1. Single delete: Click the delete icon found in the table row on the settings > users page
2. Bulk Delete: Select the table rows you would like to delete and right click and use to delete bulk action
Note: Our delete functionality is currently being improved, if you have problems deleting a user please disable the user and contact support. Our team will take care of this for you.